What Does AIDA Mean in Digital Marketing?

In this article, we’ll talk about the AIDAA model that helps us understand how the customer goes through in making a purchase decision. This is similar to the one that we discussed in the previous article under the title ‘five-stage process that consumers generally use to make a purchase decision.'

Now, the AIDA model is also a five-stage model which starts off with awareness, interest, desire, action, and advocacy.

Now I'll come into each of them in detail and we'll discuss how the customer moves from one stage to the other and how he comes to the purchase decision and why is it so relevant to us.


AIDA in Digital Marketing

1. Awareness

This is where the customer is aware of the certain products that are out there.

For example, when we talk about how the customer buys a certain product, today if you're thinking about buying a certain mobile phone, you need to be aware of the different brands that are out there. You need to be aware of different products that are out there, so that is where the first stage of awareness talks about.

So the first and most important activity that marketers need to do is to make sure that you are somebody who the customer is aware of, the customer knows that your brand exists.

Say for example, when we talk about different products out there, if you take the entire number of products that are available in the mobile phone category and put everything down into one bucket, all the brands of products, all the brands of mobile phone manufacturers and put them into one bucket, you can call them the total set, the total set of every brand or every offering that is available in this particular category.

Now, from the total set, of course, the customer is not going to be aware of all brands that are out there, the customer might be aware of a few brands which are out there. So from the total set, there are a smaller number or a limited number of brands that the customer is aware of.

Now, I might be aware of three brands, five brands, seven brands in a certain category. Think of all the brands that you're aware of in the mobile phone category.

Each customer has a certain number of brands that the customer is aware of. This is what we call the awareness set.

Now, one of the most important activities that marketers try to do or advertisers tries to do is to make sure that your brand is in the awareness set of all the customers in your target group.

All customers, which are part of the target segment that we discussed in the previous article, should be aware of your brand. So that is where awareness set comes into the picture.

Once the customer is aware of a certain brand, once there is also a need for buying a new mobile phone, the customer starts looking into the awareness sets and start considering not all, but a few of these brands that are out there.

Say, for example, I as a customer am aware of 10 different brands of mobile phones, but I might not necessarily be considering all these 10 brands when I'm making a purchase.

For example, there might be brands which I know, but these brands are not suitable for my requirement. So I might necessarily not think about these brands when I'm thinking about the purchase.

So that is where you talk about a smaller set of brands out there, even smaller than the awareness set, which generally we call the consideration set.

Now the consideration set is all the brands that the customer is evaluating.

In the evaluation of alternatives, the brands that we evaluate are the ones that are there in the consideration set.

Now, even from the consideration set, the customer now thinks about reducing the options and arriving at the final choice. So that is where the customer thinks about the choice set.

The choice set is generally a one or two or at max three brands from which the customer is now thinking to purchase.

So you start from the total set, you went into the awareness set, you came into the consideration set, you went into the choice set, and from the choice set, the customer finally makes a purchase decision.

The first stage is where you create awareness for your product. You might be communicating that the offering that you have, has certain benefits. You might be talking about the points of differentiation of this product. You might be talking about other advantages, the unique selling proposition of this product.

By doing so, you are now telling the customer, “Hey, look, see, I am having this offering for you and you should be aware of this offering.” Once the customer is aware of this offering, the next stage in the AIDA model is basically interesting.

2. Interest

Once a customer is available, once the customer is aware, the customer might start showing interest in the product.

Now, when the customer starts showing interest in the product, this is where the customer seeks out a lot of information. This might be the case where the customer goes into a search engine and starts looking for your product.

This might be the case where the customer, talks about your product and price to gather information.

So once awareness and interest are done, the third stage is where the customer has a lot of information about your product to now start desiring to buy your product.

3. Desire

This is where the customer is actually given much more information, a lot of incentives, a lot of motivating factors to now come and purchase your product. So that stage is a desire.

Once attention, interest, and desire are created, the fourth stage is that the customer actually acts.

4. Action

Action is where the customer actually purchases the product. So like we discussed in the earlier model, action is where the customer is buying your product and the next stage is advocacy.

5. Advocacy

Once a customer uses the product as we discussed earlier, he can be satisfied, or he can be dissatisfied. In each of these cases or either of these cases, the customer is now going to talk about your product.

He might talk good in case he liked the product, he might talk bad in case he didn't like the product. So in either of these cases, the customer will now talk about your product. So that is the advocacy.


So awareness, interest, desire, action, and advocacy (AIDAA) are the five stages in the consumer behavior model that we discussed.

So it is important for you to understand the AIDA model and why this model is important. Because it helps us map the entire journey that the customer goes through in arriving at a product purchase decision and beyond the product purchase decision, the customer might also engage in post-purchase behavior.

Share this

Add Comments

Your comment is valuable. Please do not spam.